What Would You Do For A Cause You Believe In?


Jasmine's heart inspired in Fiji

Jasmine’s heart inspired in Fiji

I met Jasmine Rose Gonzales (now Jasmine Van Driessche) 10 years ago when she showed up at my home in reply to a babysitting job for my then 8-year-old daughter.

I fell in love with her.  She is a beautiful young woman, with a kind of passion I relate to, especially when it comes to things she believes in.  She asked me for support in her special cause and I said HELL YEAH !!

So I ask you this question, in case you are tempted not to read on, or to stop reading when you see that she is asking for financial gifts:  What would you do for a cause you believe in?  What would you want OTHERS to do in support of your cause if you were to ask for assistance of any kind?  Let that answer be your guide as I encourage you to read Jasmine’s words below.  And please, pass this on, hit share, post it on your FaceBook page so that we can spread the word virtually.  Every little bit helps, and when we all come together for any great cause, we can truly accomplish anything!

From my heart, allow me to introduce you to a young woman who is part of my heart, part of my tribe, and a gift to the world:

“Bula (hello!) to all of Gina’s Loyal Readers…

My name is Jasmine, and I have the great fortune of having Gina as one of my dearest friends and mentor. Lucky for me, she has generously agreed to share my cause; one which I believe can truly make a difference for the people of Fiji.

My husband (whom I will be volunteering with) and I have been to Fiji twice. During those trips we didn’t spend time lounging on a beach, we spent the time with the people, seeing village life, hearing their stories, learning their language. What we realized about these people is that joy resonates in their bones. They are, as a people, without a doubt some of the kindest, most joyful and genuine people we have ever experienced. Fiji itself has unimaginable beauty, but its people are what make this small country a classroom of love, life & gratitude in the simplest & most profound ways.

Upon returning after our first trip is when I realized that 31% of Fijians suffer from absolute poverty. It was then that we decided we had to be a part of giving back to these people, as they so selflessly gave to us. Our dream has been made possible only because of the Naqaqa Giving Foundation, a 501(c)(3), a reputable organization that began 7 years ago.  We will be working in a special needs school, medical center, a farm and visiting some of the world’s most remote islands, donating medical supplies, educational materials, clothes, & tools.

I have to raise $6,500 to qualify for the immersion.   What makes this program so powerful is that the Naqaqa Giving Foundation (NGF) received a grant that will give $4,500 PER VOLUNTEER! This is huge, as this number allows NGF and me as a volunteer to make a great impact on a country that is dire need of our help. I have raised $3,450 and my goal is to raise the remaining $3,050 by July 26th, one week!

All numbers and statistics aside, I have a deep love for this country and its people. My passion to make a difference for a culture that changed my life is undeniable. My whole heart is in this and  it is a big heart with much to give, and determination that has the ability to spread like wildfire. I just need help, your help, everyone’s help.

I deeply appreciate you taking the time to read my words and I wish each of you as much joy in life as the Fijian people have brought me!

Vinaka Vakalevu!”

To read more about my Immersion, Fiji and how to donate, please visit:

www.stayclassy.org/jasmine

It’s me, Gina, again, and all I want to say is this:  It’s only $$3,050, not millions, so I urge you, do now what you’d want someone to do for you….

Love & Blessings,

Gina Cloud

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jasmine
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 13:29:54

    Thank you from the bottom of my BIG heart, You’re a true gift to me and all of the world!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,241 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,241 other followers

